Toronto events!!!

Toronto Fun Parties

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Get to know the new faces on Toronto city council

toronto city councilThe 2014 Toronto municipal election was one for the incumbents. Of the 37 city councillors running for re-election, 36 won back their seat. Only one sitting councillor, deputy speaker John Parker, was ousted by voters in Ward 26. When the new council is sworn in Dec. 1 there will be a seven new faces, many of them representing wards in south Etobicoke.

Here's a quick run-down of who's who.

Stephen Holyday, Ward 3 Etobicoke Centre

The son of former Etobicoke mayor and Toronto deputy mayor Doug Holyday, Stephen is a former manager at the Ontario Ministry of Energy and conservative. He told the Etobicoke Guardian earlier this year that he plans to keep taxes low, eliminate wasteful spending at city hall, and tackle road congestion. He replaces councillor Peter Leon, who agreed not to run after being appointed by council earlier this year.

Twitter: @stephenholyday

John Campbell, Ward 4 Etobicoke Centre

The retirement of long-time councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby left the second Etobicoke Centre council seat, home to the Ford brothers, up for grabs. Winner John Campbell, a former school trustee and business owner, edged out realtor Niels Christensen. Campbell, who lost to Gloria Lindsay Luby in 2010 by just 309 votes, says fighting over-development will be his top priority.

Twitter: @Campbell4Ward4

Justin Di Ciano, Ward 5 Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Another candidate defeated by a slim margin in 2010, Justin Di Ciano was elected this time with more than 54 percent of the vote after Peter Milczyn was elected to Queen's Park and his appointed replacement James Maloney agreed not to run. Di Ciano, a businessman and community organizer, says he'll ask the city to reconsider its plans for the Six Points interchange and help to improve the Queensway area.

Twitter: @JustinDiCiano

Christin Carmichael Greb, Ward 16 Eglinton-Lawrence

Election winner Christin Carmichael Greb claimed just 17 percent of the vote in the race to replace Karen Stintz, beating Adam Tanel, Dyanoosh Youssefi, and former Stintz advisor Jean-Pierre Boutros. Proponents of ranked ballots will see this result as an indictment of the current system, but in the meantime the former Bombardier Aerospace employee who received endorsements from John Tory and Karen Stintz is reaping the benefits.

Twitter: @CarmichaelGreb

Joe Cressy, Ward 20 Trinity-Spadina

After a round of musical chairs, Adam Vaughan's one-time provincial opponent Joe Cressy is now occupying the Liberal MPP's former seat at city council. Cressy, whose parents are both former city councillors, beat out Sarah Thomson, who finished third. The new downtown councillor is opposed to jets at the Island airport and is in favour of sales or income transit taxes.

Twitter: @joe_cressy

Jon Burnside, Ward 26 Don Valley West

Former cop and business owner Burnside was the only challenger to unseat an incumbent city councillor during this year's election, knocking aside deputy speaker John Parker by 15 percentage points. Burnside promised to review speed limits in the Leaside neighbourhood, promote traffic calming measures, and pledged to deliver additional recreational facilities and green spaces.

Twitter: @jon_burnside

Jim Karygiannis, Ward 39 Scarborough-Agincourt\

Former Liberal MP Jim Karygiannis will be taking over the seat of Mike Del Grande, who was elected school trustee for the ward. Karygiannis supports a subway extension of the Sheppard line and would like to see the proposed McNicoll TTC bus garage, which would remove the need for east-end buses to travel across the city, moved elsewhere due to pollution and traffic concerns from neighbours.

Twitter: @jimkarygiannis

Chris Bateman is a staff writer at blogTO. Follow him on Twitter at @chrisbateman.

Image: Shaun Merritt/blogTO Flickr pool.

by Chris Bateman via blogTO

No comments:

Post a Comment